Impossibly Positive

Thursday, September 28, 2006

This working mom thing is tough! I used to read about 1000 pages of fiction a week, and now, I'm lucky to get through a book every three weeks. I get up at 6am daily, get home at about that time each night, and go to bed at 10, so there's really not a lot of 'me' time available. Nos gets insulted when I read, too. I guess it isn't considered productive in his opinion. Very different than him sitting out in the garage playing with toys, right? According to him, he's actually doing something, where I'm just sitting on my duff. I beg to differ, of course.

We did go ahead and place Rev with a new daycare. The caregiver is a little wierd, and it drives me nuts when she says, "There's my baby!" in the mornings. Um, hello? That's my baby, crazy lady! I guess you have to be a little nutty to deal with the kiddos all day. I know I couldn't do it.

I will be so glad when next week is over. I'm filling in for a national account manager while she's on maternity leave. Too bad they're not paying me her salary, too! The girl makes 20k more than I do in a year, and I'm doing her job for peanuts. Yeesh. There's a convention in Florida next week, and I pretty much need to make sure my boss's boss and his boss have everything they need while they're down there. Since I work for a coffee roaster, that means all the consumables involved for drip coffee, espresso, and blended drinks, along with materials and graphics for two presentations. I was originally slated to go to the event myself, which would have been great experience, but c'mon, how could I leave this at home?

How the heck did she get so big?!?

Thursday, September 07, 2006

Nos and I have been tossing around the idea of placing Rev in a different daycare. She's currently spending two days a week in Nos's best friend's wife's care. The other three days a week, she's with my mother. I've said before how there's a LOT of driving involved in taking her to grandma's house.

Melissa is unlicensed, so we don't get our tax write-off for childcare. Another consideration is the fact that Melissa will be taking in another infant along with her ever-growing client base. That means she'll have a 3-month-old, a 5-month-old, and a 20-month-old all day, plus a 5-year-old and a 7-year-old in the afternoons. And that doesn't include other kids that drop in on a regular basis. Honestly, that's just too much! I'm not entirely comfortable with the fact that her attention will be pulled in so many directions, and she'll have to drive with Rev every day to pick up her afternoon kids.

I found a daycare through a referral agency that is run by an older Indian (as in from India) lady. She has two college-age daughters that act as her backups, and a 7th grade girl who loves to help with the babies. She's only certified for two under-two's and four older kids, so Rev will be getting a lot of individual attention. I went by her home yesterday, and everything looks great. She's even got her BA in Child Development!

We're going to move Rev there three days a week to give my mom a break, and it's only going to cost $20 more per week, plus we're now eligible for all of our deductions. Seems win-win to me. I do feel bad about changing our plans with Melissa, but when we mentioned it to her husband last night, he didn't seem to think she'd mind.

I bet she'll miss this cutie, though!